Before we begin, it is imperative to note that in its 117-year history, the Nobel Prize has been awarded to only 49 women . . . as compared to 844 men.

While 16 women have been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize, 14 have won the Nobel Prize in Literature, followed by 12 who’ve won the award in Physiology or Medicine. One woman has won the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences, five have won the Nobel for Chemistry and three have won in Physics.

Here’s a list of all the female Nobel Laureates:

Marie Skłodowska Curie for Physics
Bertha von Suttner for Peace
Selma Lagerlöf for Literature
Grazia Deledda for Literature
Sigrid Undset for Literature
Jane Addams for Peace
Irène Joliot-Curie for Chemistry
Pearl S. Buck for Literature
Gabriela Mistral for Literature
Emily Greene Balch for Peace
Gerty Theresa Cori for Physiology or Medicine
Maria Goeppert-Mayer for Physics
Dorothy Crowfoot Hodgkin for Chemistry
Nelly Sachs for Literature
Betty Williams for Peace
Mairead Maguire for Peace
Rosalyn Sussman Yalow for Physiology or Medicine
Mother Teresa for Peace
Alva Myrdal for Peace
Barbara McClintock for Physiology or Medicine
Rita Levi-Montalcini for Physiology or Medicine
Gertrude B. Elion for Physiology or Medicine
Nadine Gordimer for Literature
Aung San Suu Kyi for Peace
Rigoberta Menchú for Peace
Toni Morrison for Literature
Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard for Physiology or Medicine
Wisława Szymborska for Literature
Jody Williams for Peace
Shirin Ebadi for Peace
Elfriede Jelinek for Literature
Wangari Maathai for Peace
Linda B. Buck for Physiology or Medicine
Doris Lessing for Literature
Françoise Barré-Sinoussi for Physiology or Medicine
Elizabeth Blackburn for Physiology or Medicine
Carol W. Greider for Physiology or Medicine
Ada E. Yonath for Chemistry
Herta Müller for Literature
Elinor Ostrom for Economics
Ellen Johnson Sirleaf for Peace
Leymah Gbowee for Peace
Tawakel Karman for Peace
Alice Munro for Literature
May-Britt Moser for Physiology or Medicine
Malala Yousafzai for Peace
Tu Youyou for Physiology or Medicine
Svetlana Alexievich for Literature
Donna Strickland for Physics
Frances Arnold for Chemistry

Marie Curie was the first woman to win a Nobel Prize and also the only woman to have won it twice – in 1903 and in 1911.