Filmmakers Zoya Akhtar, Anurag Kashyap and Ritesh Batra along with actor Anupam Kher have been invited to be members by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

The new list, which consists of 50 per cent women and 29 per cent coloured people, aims to be a symbol of inclusivity and diversity. Along with Kher, actor Archie Punjabi has also been invited to be a member. The Lunchbox director Ritesh Batra is joined by Anurag Kashyap, who has been invited in the Short Films and Feature Animation category. Zoya Akhtar is joined by fellow female director Nisha Ganatra.

Kashyap acknowledged the invite by tweeting out the hashtag #WeAreTheAcademy. 


Archie Punjabi also shared her excitement through a tweet.


Other than actors and filmmakers, professionals from the VFX department have also been invited. Sherry Bharda who worked on Hichki and Srinivas Mohan, who is known for his work on 2.0 and Baahubali: The Beginning are also part of those who have been invited. 

While 2018 saw a considerable amount of big names like Shah Rukh Khan, Tabu, Madhuri Dixit and Naseeruddin Shah being invited, this year sees an increase in members from Bollywood being part of the Academy.