2013 winners
2013 winners

Founded in 2001 to honour excellence in watchmaking and hosted by the city of of Geneva, Grand Prix D’horlogerie De Geneve, is the world’s most prestigious annual watch awards show. To win the Aiguille d’Or, or the Golden Hand award at the show is considered to be ultimate honour bestowed on a watch maker. Last year the award was won by Girard-Perregaux for their Constant Escapement L.M watch. Other previous winners have included TAG Heuer Mikrogirder, Greubel Forsey Double Tourbillon 30° Edition Historique and A. Lange & Söhne Zeitwerk. Awards are also awarded in more than a dozen other categories including Grand Complications, Men’s and Women’s watches of the year, Sports watch of the year etc.

The winners are selected by a high-powered jury of nearly two dozen watch experts, collectors, watch magazine editors, designers, architects, jewelers and international celebrities. Last year’s list included designer Philippe Starck, the celebrated Indian jeweller Viren Bhagat, architect Jean-Michel Wilmotte and American rock star John Mayer. The awarded watches are honoured by MW magazine in their year-end Watch of the Year issue annually.

But before the grand awards ceremony in Geneva every November, the nominated watches are unveiled in front of horology connoisseurs and collectors in key cities around the world. So far only Singapore, Dubai, Shanghai, Hong Kong and Macau were privileged to host this travelling exhibition in Asia. This year for the first time though, New Delhi is on the map, with the awards show to be held at the Grand Ballroom of the Imperial Hotel on 27 September.

It is being hosted by Yashovardhan Saboo, CEO, of the luxury watch stores chain Ethos Ltd. Carlo Lamprecht, President, GPHG foundation will travel to Delhi specially for the occasion. Breguet, Zenith, A. Lange & Söhne, Carl F. Bucherer, Blancpain, Bulgari, Hublot, Zenith, Hermes, Harry Winston, Van Cleef & Arpels, Chopard, Omega and Louis Vuitton are among the many prestigious watch makers who have been nominated this year, and whose watches will be seen at the unveiling.

Facebook Comments