India made a strong comeback against England after losing the first Test, to comeback and take the four-match series 3-1. As a result, Virat Kohli’s men qualified for the first-ever final of International Cricket Council’s (ICC) World Test Championship (WTC).

Axar Patel and R Ashwin’s 5-fers on Day 3 of the recently concluded game ensured India won the match by an innings and 25 runs.  Rishabh Pant provided the much-needed impetus on Day 2 with a swashbuckling century, while Washington Sundar also made an equally significant 96*.

Team India needed at least a win or a draw in the final Test at Ahmedabad in order to reach the ultimate game of the tournament. Otherwise Australia would have reached the final in their stead.

Here are five other important things you need to know about Virat & Co’s next big challenge in the Championship:


The WTC final will reportedly be played on June 18, 2021. 


The home of cricket, Lord’s will host the WTC final.


India will play New Zealand, who had already qualified for the WTC final after completing their set of league fixtures.

What is the WTC?

Having commenced on August 1, 2019, the World Test Championship comprised nine teams, which were set to compete in 71 matches across two years. According to the ICC website, each team was supposed to play three home and three away series. 

“The top two teams (India and NZ) at the end will compete in the ICC World Test Championship Final in the UK in June 2021 with the winners crowned World Test Champions,” the website added.

Is this a one-off cycle?

No. According to ICC, the plans are to have two-year cycles starting with the first one ending with the upcoming WTC final. The second one is scheduled from June 2021 to April 2023.