Meet The Owners Who Spent Rs 4669 Cr At WPL Team Auctions

Image credits: @BCCI

The IPL equivalent for female cricketers will be called the Women's Premier League, as confirmed by the BCCI. The bidding process is completed, and the board has raised Rs 4669.99 crore from the sale of five teams.

Image credits: @BCCI

These five teams will be based out of Ahmedabad, Lucknow, Mumbai, Delhi, and Bengaluru, and three of them have been bought by firms that already own a team in the Indian Premier League. Let's take a look at all the owners of Women's IPL teams.

Image credits:  @WEF

#1 Adani SportslineCity: AhmedabadPrice: Rs 1289 CroreAdani Sportsline paid a whopping Rs 1289 Crore - the most expensive bid in the auction - to acquire a franchise that will call Ahmedabad their home. 

Image credits:  @Twitter

#2 Indiawin SportsCity: MumbaiPrice: Rs 912.99 CroreIndiawin Sports Pvt Ltd, owned by Reliance Industries Limited, splurged Rs 912.99 Crore to win operating rights of the WPL team that will be based out of Mumbai.

Image credits:  @RCB

#3 Royal Challengers SportsCity: BangalorePrice: Rs 901 CroreThe rights to operate the WPL team from Bangalore was secured by Royal Challengers Sports Pvt Ltd, the current owner of RCB in IPL.

Image credits:  @DC

#4 JSW GMR CricketCity: DelhiPrice: Rs 810 CroreThe joint venture between JSW Steel and GMR Infra, which currently operates Delhi Capitals, will also have a team in WPL.

Image credits:  @ET Times

##5 Capri GlobalCity: LucknowPrice: Rs 757 CroreCapri Global, a diversified NBFC company owned by Rajesh Sharma, had to pay the lowest total of Rs 757 Crore to buy the rights for the Lucknow-based franchise.