Sourav Ganguly, the former India captain and the current BCCI president, is all set to turn back the clock as he leads India against the Rest of the World XI next month! The match, set to be played next month, is a part of the second edition of the Legends League Cricket.

The Rest of the World XI will be led by the recently retired Eoin Morgan. Dedicated to India’s 75th year of independence, the tournament will be held at Eden Gardens in Kolkata. As many as four teams will participate, and the tournament will feature 15 matches.

“This is a proud moment for us that we are celebrating the 75th year of our independence. As a proud Indian, it gives me immense satisfaction to share that we have decided to dedicate this year league to the 75th year of Independence celebration,” said Ravi Shastri, Commissioner, LLC, said in a release.

Sachin Tendulkar, who was a source of a major attraction in the inaugural edition, has made himself unavailable this year. Ganguly is likely to be paired with Virender Sehwag, while Naman Ojha, Parthiv Patel, and Mohammed Kaif form the bedrock of the middle order.

Joginder Sharma, the hero of India’s maiden T20I triumph in 2007, will also be seen in the action. S Sreesanth, RP Singh, Irfan Pathan, and Ashok Dinda are four other pacers on the team. Sreesanth’s name is the most surprising inclusion, as the batters, The ROW XI too has a coterie of superstars in the rank from across the world. Three giants of the South African – Jacques Kallis, Herschelle Gibbs, and Dale Sten – have agreed to participate. Michell Johnson and Brett Lee will reunite to terrorize the batters with their pace, while Sanath Jayasuriya and Lendl Simmons may pair up to open the innings.

“Further, India Maharajas will be led by Sourav Ganguly and World Giants will be led by Eoin Morgan for the Social cause match on September 16. Thereafter the 4 Franchise owned teams would be competing in the league over 22 days,” said Raman Raheja, the CEO of Legends League Cricket.

Lead Image: BCCI/twitter