Kajol Devgn, Suriya, Reema Kagti To Become A Part Of The Oscar Committee
Kajol Devgn, Suriya, Reema Kagti To Become A Part Of The Oscar Committee

Shah Rukh Khan, Aamir Khan, Salman Khan are already a part of the Academy

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences aka the Oscars Committee has sent out invitations to 397 artists and executives to join their organisation as a member. The list includes names of people who have illustrated their credibility with their contributions to theatrical motion pictures. The list of invitees includes the likes of Kajol and Suriya from the Indian film industry. 


The Academy made the announcement on their official website and noted that those who will accept the invitations, will be the only additions to the Academy’s membership in 2022. The Academy further revealed, “Membership selection is based on professional qualifications, with an ongoing commitment to representation, inclusion and equity remaining a priority.” 

View post on X

The prestigious 2022 class will have 44% women, 37% underrepresented ethnic/racial communities, and 50% from 53 countries and territories outside the United States. The committee further added, “There are 71 Oscar nominees, including 15 winners, among the invitees. Four individuals (noted by an asterisk) have been invited to join the Academy by multiple branches. These individuals must select one branch upon accepting membership.”


Apart from Kajol Devgn , Suriya, and Reema Kagti, other Indian names included in the list are Pan Nalin, known for Samsara and Angry Indian Goddesses, Sushmit Ghosh and Rintu Thomas, who worked together on the documentary film Writing With Fire.

In the past, distinguished personalities like Shah Rukh Khan, Aamir Khan, Salman Khan, Irrfan Khan, Anurag Kashyap, Anupam Kher, Deepika Padukone, Sneha Khanwalkar and others have been invited to become a member of the Academy. 

(Featured Image Credits: Twitter)

contact us :
Follow US :
©2024 Creativeland Publishing Pvt. Ltd. All Rights Reserved