The International Cricket Council announced on Wednesday that the India women’s cricket team has qualified to play in the Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021 which will be held in New Zealand.

Along with New Zealand, Australia, England and South Africa, India has managed to seal a direct berth at the quadrennial 50-over World Cup. The championship is scheduled to be held between February 6th to March 7th in 2021.

This announcement was made by the ICC after the Technical Committee (TC) “decided that teams will share points in all three series in the ICC Women’s Championship that did not take place during the competition window”.

Out of the 21 matches that India has played in the ongoing cycle of the ICC Women’s Championship, they have won 10 matches and lost 8. “Australia (37 points), England (29), South Africa (25) and now India (23) have qualified by virtue of being the top four. Pakistan (19), New Zealand (17), West Indies (13) and Sri Lanka (5) complete the table,” an ICC release said.