Thanks to the herculean efforts of Yuvraj Singh and Yusuf Pathan, Sachin Tendulkar-led India Legends managed to beat Sri Lanka Legends by 14 runs to win the inaugural Road Safety World Series T20 2020-21 in Raipur on Sunday.

According to The Hindu, needing 182 to win, the Sri Lankan opening pair, captain Tillakaratne Dilshan and Sanath Jayasuriya, added 62 in 7.2 overs before Yusuf got Dilshan caught behind in his first over.

Also Read: India Vs Australia: Sachin Tendulkar Recalls His First Australia Tour When He Was 18

And when he trapped Jayasuriya in front for 43, Sri Lanka was in a spot of bother. But K Weeraratne and C Jayasinghe struck some lusty blows, adding 64 off 36 to keep Sri Lanka in the contest. However, with 30 needed off 12, Weeraratne was dismissed courtesy a fine diving catch by Vinay Kumar. Munaf Patel then defended 24 off the last over to carry India over the line.

Earlier, Rangana Herath and Jayasuriya dealt India two early blows but Sachin Tendulkar and Yuvraj steadied the innings with a solid partnership. Waves of cricket fans wound the clock back to the 1990s and early 2000s when Tendulkar essayed two back-to-back sweep shots off Dilshan before playing a glorious on drive off Jayasuriya.

However, Tendulkar was denied a third consecutive half-century when Farveez Maharoof had him caught behind for 30, and then Yusuf and Yuvraj took over.

With the event coming to an end, a look at the full list of award winners and statistics from the tournament:

Winners – India Legends

Runners-up – Sri Lanka Legends

Cracking Player of the Match (FINAL) – Yuvraj Singh – $ 1000

Player of the Match (FINAL) – Yusuf Pathan – Rs 1.25 lakh

Player of the Tournament – Tillakaratne Dilshan – Rs 2 lakh.

Team Stats

Highest Total: India Legends – 218/3

Biggest Win Margin (by runs) – India Legends by 56 runs against SA Legends

Biggest Win Margin (by wickets) – India Legends by 10 wickets in 10.1 overs against Bangladesh

Highest match aggregate:  

India Legends vs West Indies Legends – 424 runs

Batting stats:  

Most Runs – Tillakaratne Dilshan – 271 runs in 8 matches

Highest Score – Upul Tharanga 99 not out vs Bangladesh Legends

Highest Average – Upul Tharanga – 118.50

Most fifties – 2 by Sachin Tendulkar, Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Morne van Wyk, Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Narsingh Deonarine, Irfan Pathan, Dwayne Smith.

Most Sixes – 17 by Yuvraj Singh

Most Sixes in an innings – 6 by Yuvraj Singh in 2 matches

Bowling Stats:

Most Wickets – 12 by Tillakaratne Dilshan

Best Bowling Figures in an innings – 5/25 by Nuwan Kulasekara (SLL) vs SA Legends

Most Four-wickets in an innings – Kulasekara, Dilshan, Monty Panesar, Munaf Patel.

Also Read: Rishabh Pant is all Set to Beat this Sachin Tendulkar Record