Bollywood’s legendary actor, Amitabh Bachchan, has received many accolades throughout his career. Adding to the plethora of recognition that the star has already received, is an award by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF). Big B will be presented with the award by two of the very prominent film-makers of Hollywood — Christopher Nolan and Martin Scorsese. The legendary film-makers share a long-standing relationship with The International Federation of Film Archives, and are honoured to present the award to Bachchan.

Also Read: Amitabh Bachchan Publicly Apologises For Using Poem Without Credit

TOI reported Scorsese saying, “Safeguarding cinema is a global cause. Amitabh Bachchan’s advocacy for preserving India’s film legacy has been exceptional. With a career spanning over five decades, he is a celebrated actor who has put the considerable weight of his reputation behind the cause of film preservation in India and the entire subcontinent. They could not have chosen a more deserving individual to recognise this year.”

Nolan added, “I know how imperative it is that representatives of the film industry around the world come together to ensure that we preserve our film heritage. I want to congratulate Amitabh Bachchan on receiving the 2021 honour. He has played an essential role in putting the cause of film preservation on the map in India and the subcontinent.”

Big B will be the first Indian cinema personality to be presented with the FIAF Award for his commitment and contribution to the conservation of the world’s film heritage. Reacting to the news, Bachchan shared his excitement and said that he is honoured. He added that he was always ‘deeply committed’ to the purpose, and thinks that it is very necessary to conserve the rich heritage. The award night is scheduled to take place on March 19.

Also Read: Amitabh Bachchan Makes Fun Of His Retro Style

Former receivers of the FIAF Award include Manoel de Oliveira, Ingmar Bergman, Geraldine Chaplin, Hou Hsiao-hsien, Peter Bogdanovich, Rithy Panh, Liv Ullmann, Kyoko Kagawa, Agnes Varda, Jan Svankmajer, Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne, Apichatpong Weerasethakul, Jean-Luc Godard, and Walter Salles.